Accidents Never Happen Shawlette

Accidents Never Happen Shawlette
©A Hooker’s World

On da Hook: October 17, 2013
Off da Hook: February 4, 2014
Pattern: Accidents Never Happen Shawlette by Hooker Leo
Yarn: Cascade Heritage Silk Paints; Yarn Color: 9942 Misty Blue; Fiber Content: 85% Merino Superwash Wool, 15% Mulberry Silk; Yarn Weight: 1
Hook: Boye E/4 – 3.5 mm
Dimensions: 92 x 18 inches

In one of the CrochetMe eNewsletters I received they were talking about Bruges Lace. I had never heard of it. Because there were basic instructions and I love a challenge, when I saw the picture of Lily Chin’s Swan Lake Shawl, I knew I could improvise a shawl and set to crocheting. I tried contacting Lily at least three times because I wanted like to write up the pattern and didn’t want to step on any toes. Twice my email was returned undeliverable and to date, I have not received a reply from her Ravelry group. Because I didn’t know how to proceed, I emailed my fiber-godmothers for their opinion, but they also have not replied.

This shawlette is very simple to crochet, as you are repeating one section. The difficulty for me – as I was creating this shawlette – was determining the connection points and curves. As such, the project name – Accidents Never Happen by Blondie – is tongue in cheek because, of course, there were accidents.

After much labor and revision, I think I boiled the pattern down to simple terminology. Because the pattern has not yet been tested, I am making myself available for questions regarding the pattern and have included contact information in the pattern. Once the pattern has an official tester, the contact information will be removed, but I will continue to be available.

The pattern will also be available for purchase during Yarn Crawl LA at The Knitting Tree L A, but at a retail price. The advantage of buying the pattern in the store is that the yarn used in the pattern will also be available in different colors and I will be there to answer any questions.

As with ALL my patterns, while I condone you selling your finished project, I do ask that you do not duplicate or copy the pattern for dissemination among your friends. I have no way to police this, so you are on your honor, but I don’t think USD $1.00 is an exorbitant cost, considering I am not a professional pattern writer and I provide technical support at no additional cost.

Finally, should you deiced to honor me with a purchase, I would love to feature your finished project on Ravelry where I can be found as HookerLeo or simply send me an email.

Author: A Hooker's World

Fiber artist, designer and instructor with over 30 years crochet experience and about 10 years knit experience.

One thought on “Accidents Never Happen Shawlette”

Leave a Reply

